New

(This is also something new to me: using a Daily Post for a topic.)

I still can’t believe it. I am a dad now, happily married with a very cute son! Time flew by so fast.

With marriage comes a lot of unfamiliar, and sometimes uncomfortable, things. One of which is visiting my wife’s relatives, and attending and even hosting events! One of the most recent events that we hosted was our son’s baptism, held December 28, last year.

I am a loner, and growing up in a family with little to no interaction with relatives, I became socially awkward. I have been trying to improve, but I am still a work in progress. My family also had little financial capabilities, so we didn’t really have any major celebrations, skipping birthdays or traditional holidays altogether, like Christmas or New Year’s Eve celebrations. I am also an agnostic, meaning I am religion-free.

Hosting my son’s baptism was for my wife’s wishes, and hosting the reception was also her idea. I would have preferred a smaller gathering, strictly for immediate family members.

I didn’t really know what to do. I ended up just walking around and smiling awkwardly to her relatives and friends.

It was a smorgasbord of everything I was against, but the event, and myself, turned out quite well.

Here’s the only shot that I can share, my son not included. My wife and I are in agreement to keep our lives as private as possible, even limiting our pictures in this journal:

My Beautiful Wife and Myself

Who would have thought?

Leave a Reply

