Of Patience

  I feel terrible. I feel like I have lost one of my few assets at work, which is my patience with older people. I have two older trainees in my current class, my first class after a few months of being stagnant. They failed to meet the targets of their previous program, and now they have been transferred to my program. They had their mini-assessment earlier, where they will need to apply what they learned during our discussions, practices and observations. It’s a bit like a “show me what you’ve learned” type of thing. Take note that we are handling back-office support. We take care of requests in the back-end with no real interaction with anyone. 

 They failed miserably. I got a bit frustrated while they were doing the mini-assessment. One, because they were not performing as expected; and two, because I felt like I failed them too. I want to blame it to the recent string of holidays, because they had a 5-day rest and maybe they forgot their tasks. It’s understandable, for sure, since they have just been attending training for a week. But still, I was surprised that I even felt frustrated. I have not felt or seen myself run out of patience, until last night. I’m hoping it’s just one of those days. 

∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴∴

 On a not-so-related note, I have just started a new workout program, called the German Volume Training. I liked this program because it’s a short program, one I can finish in an hour, and according to what I’ve read, I can get a lot of results if I follow it to a T. It’s more of a challenge now, though. My wife’s about to give birth, but since the program is fast paced, I will squeeze it in our schedule. I also need patience for this, and I hope I don’t run out of it again like last night. 

 I’m thinking of recording my progress using pictures, weight tracks, and all that jazz. I don’t want to post anything online until I notice any huge changes. I’ve tried keeping track of my “progress” before, and I ended up disappointed. Let’s wait and see.

Leave a Reply

