Daily Prompt: Personal Space

“To what extent is your blog a place for your own self-expression and creativity vs. a site designed to attract readers? How do you balance that? If sticking to certain topics and types of posts meant your readership would triple, would you do it?” 

I’ll show you my stats to answer the question above.

My Month's Statistics
My Month’s Statistics

I can confidently say that I have a lot of visitors, and that the question above does not apply to me. I can be as random as I want and still get the numbers I want.

NOT.

If you haven’t noticed yet, I purposely removed the numbers on the left side of the graph, and left out the bars to make me look like a “real blogger” (and maybe a fool). My real and woeful stat-line is (drum roll please):

My Monthly Statistics 2
My Monthly Statistics 2

Ta-daa! 

I can’t even break the 20 views per day mark.

I started this blog because I wanted to have something to look back to, when I get old. I wanted to have a means to reminisce, and see what I am up to during these formative years. I wanted to have something to show my future kids, and to tell them that writing is a good way to express themselves, and to express their feelings, rather than doing something else (something nasty).

I trotted on, a few posts for a few weeks, and I was still satisfied. I read and met (figuratively) a few writers, and visited their worlds. I went with them in their travels, and I communicated. I chanced upon a few blogs that generated a few numbers that I only encountered whenever I play Monopoly. 6 digit visitors per day, 5 digits and even 3 digits. As my stats show, I am happy to have at least 1 or 2 visitors per day. This is when I started telling myself that I need to get more visitors.

I was caught up in the numbers. I wanted to get more views, and more interactions. When I did not get it, I felt sad, and felt like I was bad at writing. I wanted to get more visitors so bad that I almost wrote product reviews and posted it on other websites, like a spam comment. I even started promoting my blog through Facebook, but I have stopped doing so, and even deactivated my Facebook account.

Luckily, I was able to shake this feeling off. I remembered my reason for creating this blog in the first place: to have a personal journal.  My main reason was to write for myself, and not for others. I almost got carried away with the numbers.

Sometimes, I get lucky and get more viewers on one day, but admitting that I will never be an internet sensation is easier than trying to be one. I am not selling out, as what they say. I don’t want to write about one specific topic because for sure, I will run out of gas, knowing myself.  I have too limited knowledge of any topic that I pretty much will be spewing nonsense almost immediately.

Randomness, here we continue.

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Personal Space

  1. I’m not too concerned with the numbers, either.

    But as time goes by, I feel there’s already a certain oblgation that I post something, anything. You do know I post 2x a month, right, unlike others who post everyday, sometimes several times a day.

Leave a Reply

