Goodbye Facebook

FB1

 

It was hard, but I finally did it. I let go of Facebook.

I must confess, Facebook had given me a lot of good times on the internet. I was online for almost everyday, sometimes more than once. I surfed the social networking site even at work, even though it was prohibited. I wanted to see what my Facebook friends were up to, and I wanted them to be updated with what I was up to, too. Facebook became more of a past time, it became a necessity. I played games on it, read articles on it, watched interesting and viral videos from it. I became nuts about Facebook.

But there came a time when I realized that Facebook became a chore. No longer what it was, people used it too much, like I did once. It became an eyesore. It became a place of extremes.

There were people who update their status every minute, even with the most mundane of all tasks or chore. It seemed like these people had nothing better to do but to tell everyone on Facebook what they were doing at the moment.

It became a medium of braggadocio. Whenever I read status updates, majority of them are nothing but attempts to showcase some stuff to show how great one’s life is. There are people who use this as a method to be “something else” or “someone else”, which is completely different from their real self. Majority wanted to be “cool” and majority was willing to try anything to be “cool”, even just in Facebook.

There were people who are “rich”, always posting stuff about their new gadgets, their new toys, new and expensive hobbies, and their travels. It’s great to look at, at some point, but there comes a time when I can’t help comparing myself to them (I wish my parents were rich too), and ending up having a sad start (or usually, end) to my day.

There are the higher ups, your office “boss” who falls under the category above, who sometimes goes overboard with pictures of her night outs, that she most of the time ends up looking like a hoe. I see her in the office every night, and I seriously saw her in a different way after seeing a few (of the thousands) of her pictures.

There are the suicidal and problematic ones, who post pictures of them hurting themselves. Posting pictures of their blood covered self, or just hints of problems, eliciting responses and then responding with “I’m okay” or “it’s nothing…”. 

And then there are the “smart” ones, who like to let everyone know that they are intellectually higher than most of the people around them. They normally “laugh” at the mistakes that they overheard, or say how they corrected someone else’s grammar (look who’s qualified to correct people’s grammar).  

The sadder part is, I know these people personally (most of them, at least), and they are not what they try to claim to be on the internet. It’s just crazy how people change when they get behind a keyboard. On the internet, nobody knows if you are what you claim to be, or even if you are a dog.

Peter Steiner’s cartoon

I can’t even delete my account, the link is broken and apparently, I can only deactivate it. I can “go back” anytime, but I’m hoping I don’t feel the need to.

 

6 thoughts on “Goodbye Facebook

  1. You can delete your account in Facebook (not just deactivate it). I did that. Go to this link http://www.facebook.com/help/224562897555674 . Click the hyperlink “fill out this form”. Once you’ve logged in, you will encounter a box that says, “If you do not think you will use Facebook again and would like your account deleted, we can take care of this for you. Keep in mind that you will not be able to reactivate your account or retrieve any of the content or information you have added. If you would still like your account deleted, click “Delete My Account”.”

    Once you’ve confirmed to have your account deleted, they will move your account to “deactivated” status for 14 days. If you have not logged in within that 14 days, your account will be permanently deleted. I know because I’ve done it with my Facebook account. Best of luck! 😉

Leave a Reply

