How Full Is Your Bucket?

I have just started reading How Full Is Your Bucket? by Tom Rath and his grandfather, the late Donald O. Clifton, Ph. D., and I have already made some changes in the way I interact with people.

Some of the things in this book are things that I am already doing, although I just do not know that I was, until I read a few sentences.

One of which is the term that you will encounter a lot of times during the course of your reading: filling someone’s bucket. It means being a positive influence to someone, in turn greatly affecting their lives. Such positive influences can be as simple as a praise at work, or recognition.

I have only read a few pages, but I can already attest to the content. Just recently, my class gave me a “thank you” cake, shown below:

I have to admit that what I do (whatever it is, I can’t tell you specifically, but I kinda teach the English Language, and train people too.) can get stressful. I lose weight when I have classes. I gain a bit of weight when I don’t. Sometimes, I long for recognition. We rarely get any, because apparently, we are a team that the company spends money on, and not make money out of. It can get frustrating a lot of times. But receiving these types of gifts, however simple, means a lot. I know it’s long overdue, but I like to thank everyone who has ever given me kudos, especially my very appreciative former Trainees.

I think the book came just in time too, since I have also been recognized as one of the best Trainers in the company, and will be sent to an overnight stay at a resort somewhere. I have no idea if it’s true, or if my manager is trolling me, but I am hoping that it is. The “price” I got (if true) seems a little small for some, cheap even, but that’s enough for me. At least my hard work has been recognized.

I hope that I have touched their lives positively, the way that they did mine. On to the next chapters of the book, and then I’ll try applying it in real life, if I haven’t already.

Again much thanks to all of you.

Leave a Reply

