The Good And The Bad: Leadership Training, etc.

I finally got the chance to go back to this blog after almost a week out of my home site (Makati City). I attended several leadership training in two different sites. I would have loved to discuss and disclose the details, but since I signed a non-disclosure contract, I can’t. A lot of people have been telling me to just go ahead and share information, but since most of it is proprietary, I have not told anyone not affiliated with my company about it. Plus, since I am part of the management team, I have to observe integrity (the Non-Disclosure Clause) in and out of the office premises. Most of the time, I get a scoff from my acquaintances, thinking that I am only trying to act high and mighty, but they don’t understand.

Now, let me go back to my title. I will share a few tidbits about my experiences these past few weeks. Let’s start with the good: I have met a lot of people during the course of the training, and I learned a lot from them too. I learned that no matter how good I think I am, there would always be someone better than me. My colleagues shared a lot of stories and best practices, and I had a problem keeping up with them, as I was taking down notes. A lot of them had been in the industry (I can’t even tell you which industry) for more than eight or ten years, compared to my three. I must admit that although I am at par with them, there are still a lot of things that I need to master. That’s mainly why I pulled all my applications back, since I felt that I can still learn a lot from where I currently am. I have just started thinking that maybe I got promoted too fast.  I heard people not wanting a promotion before, and their reason was the same, and I thought that they were being stupid. Now I know the feeling.

I also learned that I will always be better than someone too, that there’s always someone who is looking for my help, and that I can still share my knowledge even with the best of them. No one is perfect, and everyone is constanly evolving. I can still speak in front of the aforementioned “pioneers” in the industry and they will still learn something new from me, the same way that I always learn something from them.

Moving on to the bad: First, the class that I have co-facilitated got a schedule mix-up. We were supposed to be in the 2pm to 10pm shift, but the attendees were adviced to follow a 10pm to 6am schedule. I had to have them go on a 6 day work-week to make up for the lost time. The week after, I got drenched because a typhoon decided to show up while I was in the middle of a road. On that same class, I had to let go of one person too. However, this was well justified as she did not meet the required scores, but I still find it hard to tell someone that they did not make it.

And finally, the worse. We had a thanksgiving party for the players and supporters of our just-concluded Sports Fest.

The food for the Thanksgiving, which I missed.

 

A Bulldog Cupcake after our team’s moniker

 

The turnout was high, but I was not able to attend because I was in another site. The problem was, majority of the attendees were the people who declined to support the team, or people who declined the invitation to play. What pissed me off was the most of the players received an appreciation plaque, except me. I was thinking: “Was it because I failed to attend the event”? My manager attended, so they could have given it to her, or she could have accepted it in my behalf, so that was not it. I also remembered that I was the only player who played my ass off (excuse my French) the entire Sports Fest. I led the team in almost every statistical category, never got late, never had an excuse. I also got my head cracked open in the process, but played with the injury, until I had to be carried off the gym. I was not expecting any MVP award though. I was just looking for an acknowledgement of my hard work. Who doesn’t want to get recognized for something that they worked hard for? Not even a pat on the back. I almost decided to not play next year, but my love for basketball convinced me otherwise. I’ll just have to play no matter what. I love the game, and who knows, I might get a recognition next year, or even better, a championship. I guess impersonating Rodman (his on court plays, not his persona) did not work. Or maybe, I was just expecting too much.

Rodman to do list: Dive for the ball, check.
One thought on “The Good And The Bad: Leadership Training, etc.

Leave a Reply

