“Earth” Run

I would just like to share a picture by a Filipino director who joined the recent National Geographic Earth Day Run, held last April 22.

photo courtesy of Francis Xavier Pasion

If this run was “for Mother Earth”, I would hate to see a fun run against it.

To be honest, most people I know who joined this fun run does not even know what the event was all about. It is just another chance for them to join the “in” crowd. And since fun runs are the “in” thing, they hopped on the bandwagon.

The event organizers failed miserably on this one. They should have thought about telling people who joined to bring their own reusable tumblers. Or is that “too heavy” for runners? If these paper cups were already a pain to carry all throughout the run, then I guess a tumbler full of water would be, too. The “runners” failed miserably too, maybe even more.

I am not an activist, but I do care about the environment. I have my own faults too, I admit. But if a huge event like this could be planned properly, then everything would be fine and dandy. Let’s not forget the name this event carries: National Geographic. If there’s any company that can be environmentally aware, Nat Geo is it.

But ironically, everything about the run failed, basing on this photo.

The aim was to save the environment. The result was the opposite.

“Those are paper cups that can degrade, and can be recycled”. The supporters would say. But let me ask you this: isn’t it more environmentally friendly to just forget about paper cups? Recycling them uses up energy too! Remember Earth Hour? Or is that just another fad? And don’t forget where papers are made from.

My friends like to join bandwagons. A lot of them joined this too. I asked them why they run. The majority of the answers were divided into the singlet, and to take pictures. Seriously. After the run, if you were wondering where they went, they went to McDonald’s.

How cool is that?

I have never joined a fun run before, so I don’t have the answer to my question. I don’t think I ever will, too. It’s overpriced and overhyped. I’ll just do my usual jog in the A.M., and then do my part to save the environment.

One thought on ““Earth” Run

  1. Hello There! HOw have you been….anyways

    I’ve been following your blog ever since I’ve came across this site. I am a new writer and I want to self-promote my newest projects that can be found here http://jeninesilos.wordpress.com/2012/04/27/my-first-book-series-the-wonders-in-fable-land/ I just want to share it to all blogs I follow because it is my first time in the field of writing. Or you can see it directly in this site: http://writeforacause.org/

    Your visit and comments are very much appreciated! thanks.

Leave a Reply

