The Narcissist’s Book

I remember the first time I went on facebook, and it was because of curiosity. After 2 or so years (I completely forgot when I joined), I felt like leaving the social networking site several times, but I found good games so I decided to stay.

Yes, the only reason I stay on facebook is because of the games. And maybe talk to some friends who I don’t have any other means of communications with. It is the best way for me to communicate with people outside my immediate environment, but most of the time, it just pisses me off.

I hate browsing through the news feed. I always find things that rub me off the wrong way. I don’t call it the “Narcissist’s book” for nothing. I find that almost all post I read came from pure selfish views. I am not sure if it is the same for everyone, but this is exactly what I see, and I am going to describe it as I see fit.

It is almost the exact same thing when kids get anything new from their parents, and start showing off to their friends, only adults do it on the web.

It’s a good thing that the administrators added an “unsubscribe” option, so I don’t have to deal with a lot of this stuff every single day (anymore). I have my family members on regular feed, and a few friends, and that’s it.

Okay, enough of the rant. Here are some stuff that turns me off facebook:

1. Too much pictures – I know that taking pictures of momentous occasions are a great way to preserve the memories, but taking pictures of every single god-damned thing is too much. Taking a picture of yourself in the bathroom, taking a picture of yourself in a public restroom, taking a picture of yourself taking a picture of yourself, this stuff is just too much for me. Yes, go ahead and take a picture of yourself in McDonald’s, like it would be the first and the last time you’ll be there. I also don’t understand why people would want to take pictures of their money, or themselves holding a lot of money. It’s funny (or not) because an acquaintance did this, and the next thing he knew, his apartment got ransacked.

Taking pictures of good food are also okay, but not every single thing that you’d put in your mouth, please. Eating bread? *snap* Chips? *snap* leftover food from yesterday inside the refrigerator? *snap* dirty plate that needs to be washed? *snap*

2.  Telling everyone what you just did – I don’t know how people do this but posting every minute detail of your life seems to be the “in” thing. I guess I’m not cool enough to be “in”.

3. Let’s be Friends – even if I don’t know you at all.  I have a lot of requests from people I remotely know, I don’t get why they want to add me on facebook, and if I made the mistake of confirming, we would never have any interaction, at all. I think some people would just really want to have a lot of facebook friends. Is there a contest that I did not know about? Is prize money involved? If yes, I would join then.

4. Relationship Status dependence – another great thing in facebook is the relationship status option. People would know that you are married to your husband/wife, if you are already engaged to someone, or if you are just in a boyfriend/girlfriend relationship. It is also great that you can just put anyone under this option, like for your current boyfriend/girlfriend, and then change it to “single” every time you’d have a petty fight. In reaction, your “true friends” would react violently in several drawling comments. Then update it again to “in a relationship with…” after you guys have patched things up. Your “true friends”? They would comment again, this time positively. How about the people who did not comment at all? Unfriend.

5. Please Like Me – I also hate the fact that people I know would update their status a lot just to elicit a response, more specifically, have someone click the “like” button. “Who likes cake? click the like button if you do!”. I also read this before: “Having a nice talk with mom!” A lot of “likes”, but I don’t think your mum liked it that you were surfing the web while she was talking. “I need to be motivated today”. Yes! Like the status so I’d get motivated!

I have other pet peeves, but I don’t want to dwell on this too much right now. I have other things to do.

Current facebook status: “just finished ranting on my blog. off to the dining room to eat! pictures would be posted later!”

Oh God.

2 thoughts on “The Narcissist’s Book

  1. * grins* I understand. It can get so annoying, really, so the few of us who are not obssessed with publicizing everything that happens to us can just shake our heads. I have a friend who found out she wasn’t in a relationship anymore with her boyfriend on Facebook. She saw her BF’s relationship status and it was negative ! What the heck is that !

    You know, I still want to receive letters. I prefer to receive Christmas cards, rather than greetings on my email folder. I keep the cards. The emails get deleted. I still want to lick the envelope, put the stamp, and send it off to the mailbox. This is a sad reality. But I tell you, you’re not the only who feels this way. facebook has gone out of control. One thing I’m sure of, I don’t want to be a part of it.

    Cheers ! And happy 2012 !

    • Oh wow? Really? That sucks big time.. 😐

      You’re right about writing, I write even my blog posts first and then type it in wordpress.. writing just gets the creative juices flowing, plus I think the emotion and feelings get transferred to the letter.

      Have a great 2012 ~~

Leave a Reply

