Dad Conversations

I rarely watch TV at home. And when I do get the chance to, I normally have everyone in the house with me. Yesterday was not really different. My mom was lying down on the couch, my dad was sitting behind me, and I was sitting in front of the television, eating my lunch. We were watching a documentary by a local TV News station, GMA-7, about a place in the Philippines, Camarines Sur. Coincidentally, this was where my mom and dad grew up and met, so we decided to watch it, and at the same time, listen to my mom and dad’s stories.

This is where Camarines Sur is located

I was watching the show very closely, because it was showcasing the place’s tourists’ attraction. Wake boarding, and several other water sports.  My dad started talking about how they were swimming on the same exact spots shown on TV way back, and never realized how it would be so “mainstream” today. They used to fishing where the guys on TV jet ski, or do flips with their boards. There are even talks about transforming the place into a “Singapore of the Philippines”.  The Philippine Advertising Congress is also held here, most recently.

Wakeboarding

I love it when my parents compare the past and the present. I get curious a lot, and wish that I was in the  same generation as them (sometimes).

Everything was well and good  until the show profiled the leaders of the province. The governor started counting the numerous changes in Cam Sur. Call Centers, exhibit areas and the aforementioned water sports complex, to name a few. My dad gave me a quick trivia about the province’s government: The current governor’s family has been in position as far as he can remember.

I did not mind it at first. It did not sink in until the documentary shifted focus. It turns out that the family itself, as powerful as they are, is currently fighting internally.  The issue was the current governor’s dad was going to go against the governor’s son (I hope I made sense on that one).

Now, a power struggle is nearing its climax. The family is split between two of their clan members. Normally, I don’t even mind it, but since I’m all grown up now, my brain decided to think and remember the past news that I have heard and/or watched recently.

  •    Husband’s term ends, makes wife run. Wife knows nothing about politics or governance, Husband is running the city on the sidelines.
  •    Dad’s term ends, makes son/daughter run. Son/Daughter seems to know a lot about politics, but Dad still calling the shots.
  •    Humble Man/Lady runs; Man/Lady wins; amasses great deal of wealth; makes son/daughter run; son/daughter know nothing about politics; Dad/Mom still running the city from the sidelines.

These are just some of the news that I remember.

And this is still the news that I receive each day.

My dad also asked me if I still remember the sad state of our countries educational system.

How could I forget?

from GMANews.TV

My dad then gave me a theory about this: The reason why these politicians do not support or even think pf the countries educational system as a primary problem is they want to stay in power, and one of the ways to do so is to keep the people from getting good education. My dad’s exact words in the vernacular were: “Kaya di pinapaunlad ang edukasyon sa atin, kasi gusto nila, ang mga tao, mangmang”.

A scary thought. A valid argument. A fact that cannot be missed.

The latest report by the National Statistical Coordination Board, recognizing that one in six school-age-children is deprived of education..” —http://www.scribd.com/doc/16466469/State-of-Philippine-Education

One thought on “Dad Conversations

Leave a Reply

