Trese 4

I finally got my 4th book of Trese! I got so excited that I immediately read it when I got home. Funny thing was I almost overpaid for it, since the bookstore clerk punched in the wrong code. I saw Pugad Baboy (Pig’s Nest) punched in instead of the title of the book.

I already saw a copy of Trese 4 in another bookstore, but I was not able to buy it immediately since I did not bring extra money that time. After a couple more days of procrastination, I finally went to another bookstore to look for a copy, and finally got one.

In case you are wondering what Trese is all about, let me give you a quick run down: Alexandra Trese is the name of the protagonist, a lady Horacio from the CSI franchise. But instead of dead people, she investigates any paranormal related crime. She also has two sidekicks slash personal bodyguards, the twin mercenaries known as Kambal (twins), who wears a sad-faced and happy faced masks.

Here is the plot (from WikiPilipinas):

When the sun sets in the city of Manila, don’t you dare make a wrong turn and end up in that dimly-lit side of the metro, where aswang run the most-wanted kidnapping rings, where kapre are the kingpins of crime, and engkantos slip through the cracks and steal your most precious possessions.

When crime takes a turn for the weird, the police call Alexandra Trese.

Created by Budjette Tan and drawn by KaJo Baldisimo, it revived my interest in Filipino Comics, which has been in a steady mainstream decline. I was never able to find Filipino comics in bookstores before. I only see them in local sari-sari stores, or news stands. Now, Trese has taken over the mainstream media and conquered our imagination.

I would be reading the book again so I would just leave some pictures here, and update this post as necessary:

mytymark's Fan Art

This one is created by Leinil Francis Yu. Yes, THE Leinil Francis Yu of the Wolverine (Marvel; X-men) fame, who also happens to be a Filipino. (more about Leinil here).

For the official Trese blog site: please click here

For Budjette’s Deviantart page: please click here

Pick up a copy if you are a Filipino, and then send some copies to your foreigner friends. Who knows, some big movie/book tycoon might like it and be able to help for international circulation, a TV show, or better yet, a 3D movie. Oh, what I wouldn’t give to see Alexandra Trese in the big screen.

One thought on “Trese 4

Leave a Reply

